Prof. Ulf Schirmer

DEENLegal Notice

Conductor – Music Director – Artistic Director

About    Discography    Media    Photos    Contact   

Biography

Ulf Schirmer is the Conductor, Artistic Director and General Music Director of Leipzig Opera House and Artistic Director of the Munich Radio Orchestra and was born in Eschenhausen near Bremen in 1959. He studied at the conservatory there and at the Hamburg Music Academy under György Ligeti, Christoph von Dohnányi and Horst Stein. He was Assistant to Lorin Maazel and Resident Conductor at the Vienna State Opera, where he directed, inter alia, premières of Berio's »Un Re in ascolto«, »Erwartung«, »Raimonda« and »Die Entführung aus dem Serail«. General Music Director in Wiesbaden and Artistic Director for the symphony concerts at the Hessian State Theatre from 1988 to 1991. Resident Conductor at the Vienna State Opera as of 1991, and also worked as a consultant for the Vienna State Opera in subsequent years. Principal Conductor to the Danish National Symphony Orchestra in Copenhagen from 1995 to 1998.

In 2000, Ulf Schirmer was appointed Professor of Musical Analysis and Musical Dramaturgy at the Hamburg University of Music and Theatre. Since 2006/07, he has been Artistic Director of the Munich Radio Orchestra, and in May 2011 extended his contract up until 2017. As part of his concert schedule, Ulf Schirmer also worked with the Vienna and Berlin Philharmonic Orchestras, the Vienna and Bamberg Symphony Orchestras, the Staatskapelle Dresden and the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande. He has made guest appearances at the Leipzig Gewandhaus.

Numerous engagements at the Bregenz and the Salzburg Festivals, at the Vienna State Opera, Graz Opera, Deutsche Oper Berlin, the Opéra Bastille in Paris, La Scala in Milan, as well as in Tokyo, Geneva and Israel. Tremendous successes with »Der Rosenkavalier«, »Salome«, »Die Frau ohne Schatten«, »La Bohème«, »Nabucco«, »Fidelio«, »Der fliegende Holländer«, »Der Ring des Nibelungen«, »Parsifal«, »Le nozze di Figaro«, »Die Fledermaus«, »Griechische Passion«, »Lulu«, »Die Vögel« and the première of »Tod und Teufel« by Gerd Kühr. »La Bohème« and »Der fliegende Holländer« at the Vienna State Opera. Production of »Parsifal« at Leipzig Opera House in 2005/06. General Music Director of Leipzig Opera House since 2009/10, and then Artistic Director as well as General Music Director from the 2011/12 season. In the 2012/13 season, productions of »Die Feen« in cooperation with the Bayreuth Festival (BF Medien), »Das Rheingold«, the ballet evening »Ein Liebestraum« and a re-run of »Ariadne auf Naxos«. Ulf Schirmer also directed the City of Leipzig's Richard Wagner Festival to commemorate the bicentenary of his birth. 2013/14: productions of »Die Walküre« and »Die Frau ohne Schatten« and a re-run of »Elektra«.

ImpressumDEEN

Prof. Ulf Schirmer

DEENImpressum

Dirigent – Generalmusikdirektor – Intendant

Über mich    Diskografie    Media    Fotos    Kontakt   

Biografie

Der Dirigent, Intendant und Generalmusikdirektor der Oper Leipzig und Künstlerische Leiter des Münchner Rundfunkorchesters wurde 1959 in Eschenhausen bei Bremen geboren. Er studierte am dortigen Konservatorium sowie an der Musikhochschule in Hamburg bei György Ligeti, Christoph von Dohnányi und Horst Stein. Er war Assistent von Lorin Maazel und Hausdirigent an der Wiener Staatsoper, wo er u. a. Premieren von Berios »Un Re in ascolto«, »Erwartung«, »Raimonda« und »Die Entführung aus dem Serail« leitete. 1988 bis 1991 Generalmusikdirektor in Wiesbaden und Künstlerischer Direktor für die Symphoniekonzerte am Hessischen Staatstheater. Ab 1991 Resident-Dirigent an der Staatsoper Wien, in den darauf folgenden Jahren auch als Konsulent beratend für die Wiener Staatsoper tätig. Von 1995 bis 1998 Wechsel als Chefdirigent zum Dänischen Radio-Sinfonie-Orchester in Kopenhagen.

2000 wurde Ulf Schirmer zum Professor für musikalische Analyse und Musikdramaturgie an die Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg berufen. Seit 2006/07 ist Ulf Schirmer künstlerischer Leiter des Münchner Rundfunkorchesters, im Mai 2011 verlängerte er seinen Vertrag bis 2017. Im Rahmen seiner Konzerttätigkeit arbeitete er außerdem mit den Wiener und den Berliner Philharmonikern, den Wiener und den Bamberger Symphonikern, der Staatskapelle Dresden und dem Orchestre de la Suisse Romande zusammen. Einladungen an das Gewandhaus Leipzig.

Zahlreiche Engagements bei den Bregenzer und den Salzburger Festspielen, an der Staatsoper Wien, der Grazer Oper, der Deutschen Oper Berlin, der Pariser Opéra Bastille, der Mailänder Scala, in Tokio, Genf und Israel. Große Erfolge mit »Der Rosenkavalier«, »Salome«, »Die Frau ohne Schatten«, »La Bohème«, »Nabucco«, »Fidelio«, »Der fliegende Holländer«, »Der Ring des Nibelungen«, »Parsifal«, »Le nozze di Figaro«, »Die Fledermaus«, »Griechische Passion«, »Lulu«, »Die Vögel« sowie mit der Uraufführung »Tod und Teufel« von Gerd Kühr. An der Wiener Staatsoper »La Bohème« und »Der fliegende Holländer«. An der Oper Leipzig 2005/06 Einstudierung »Parsifal«. Generalmusikdirektor der Oper Leipzig seit 2009/10, ab der Spielzeit 2011/12 Intendant und weiterhin Generalmusikdirektor. In der Spielzeit 2012/13 Einstudierungen »Die Feen« in der Kooperation mit den Bayreuther Festspielen (BF Medien), »Das Rheingold«, des Ballettabends »Ein Liebestraum« und der Wiederaufnahme »Ariadne auf Naxos« sowie Dirigat des Festakts der Stadt Leipzig zum 200. Geburtstag Richard Wagners. 2013/14: Einstudierung »Die Walküre« und »Die Frau ohne Schatten« sowie Wiederaufnahme »Elektra«.

ImpressumDEEN